After-Before Friday Week 20

The photo I present this week was taken in San Pedro Claver Square, in Cartagena de Indias, Colombia, when we reach that port during my last vacation, three weeks ago. This was the first of several photos I took of this interesting scene and, being the worst of all of them, technically speaking, I wanted to work with this to see what could I do (just as an exercise, in case it was the only one). So, being so terribly exposed and composed, I knew there wasn’t much I could do. However, I think the result is more or less ok, at least to be shown in this forum.

I basically worked, as usual, in Photoshop, firstly cropping the image in order to get a better composition (and less area to work on!). After that, a duplicated layer to correct the overexposed areas of the photo, trough a new curves adjustment layer. Then, I applied a mask to recover the lost exposure over the main and secondary subjects.

Following, I reduce a bit the contrast to the whole image an increased, just a little bit he saturation. Then, I applied something I call “selective Contrast” (what is just to apply the  “3D Light Technique” learned  from Jose María Mellado tutorial at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XJU14JyAIN0) only in the main subject (the real vendor), to highlight it a bit more over the rest of the so many elements present in the background.

Finally, as something unprecedented in me, I followed Stacy’s normal post processing ending and opened Lightroom to apply a subtle vignette in order to reinforce the highlighting of the vendor(s).

And that’s it! This is not really a work I’m happy to do but, at least, (I think) now we can take a look at the photo!

But, don’t worry, this week ABFriday Forum is plenty of really good photo editing works you can enjoy!

6 thoughts on “After-Before Friday Week 20

  1. Jaime, I think you did a superb job post-processing this photo! The final composition is much stronger, the colors beautifully saturated, and the detail crisp. And the vignette provides just the right touch 😉 I’ll have to follow your link to the 3-D Light Technique to find out what it is all about. Thanks for sharing that!

  2. I don’t think you have to create a work of art every time you process a photo. Sometimes it’s more than enough to learn something new. Or to experiment. I’d say you showed us just how much post processing can do. I agree with both Katie and Stacy. You showed us a much better focused shot with everything you did; the crop, the vignette, the color saturation, and the exposure. Great job!

Leave a Reply

