After-Before Friday Week 15

The photo I posted this week was taken in the rural small town of my country, called “Los Nevados”. This picturesque village is located in Merida State, in the middle of the “Sierra Nevada National Park”, in the Andina Mountain Range, at 2700 m height.

Not big effort in edition (as I often do); besides the basic routine of levels and contrast adjustments, this time, I practiced trying to recover some details from the deep shadow, produced by the strong contrast, using layer mask:

  1. I applied my normal adjustments in levels and contrast.
  2. Duplicated the final layer and created a mask.
  3. A new considerable level adjustment to lighten up the darkest zones and get some textures in the porch of the house as well as in the faces.
  4. Applied the brush to the mask over the rest of the image to get back the previous levels.
  5. Finally, I cropped the image to straighten it and focusing the attention mainly in that porch context.

I hope you enjoy this one and the rest of the submissions to this week  ABFriday Forum, wonderfully hosted by Stacy Fischer at Visual Ventury.

8 thoughts on “After-Before Friday Week 15

  1. Hi, Jaime. Your photo illustrates the importance of correct cropping to enhance the overall photo. Without it, the photo wouldn’t have the impact that it does. It was a difficult scene to capture given the high light and dark shadows, so opening up the shadows would have been my first move as well.

    In Lightroom, I probably would have opened up the shadows more and then decreased the overall exposure. I know that might seem strange, but I oftentimes can really capture details otherwise lost, and I think there is a bit more in the darker areas of the photo that I would love to see – especially what might be within the entranceway behind the boy. Perhaps there was nothing and you decided not to introduce extra noise into the photo. And that’s a decision to think about too.

    Anyway, love how the deep blue of the sky is echoed in the blue of the blanket, and the texture of the roof and the street complement one another as well. The whole photo makes me curious about what the story behind the family just might be.

    Thanks so much for sharing this on ABFriday!

  2. Pingback: After-Before Friday Week 15 | Visual Venturing

Leave a Reply

