After-Before Friday Week 12

For this ABFriday Week 12 event, I submitted another photo from Manaure, in Cabo de La Vela, Goajira region, Colombia.

Nothing extraordinary about edition, just my basic procedure for almost all of my pictures: Adjustment of level, contrast and saturation, in this case  to highlight the contrast of that combination of cold and warm colors, and accentuate a bit the textures in the sky and in the muddy ground.

I  “cleaned” a bit the scene by removing some of the solid waste on the ground with the parch tool and, at the end, I also decided to remove the man going by at the left, in the background, in order to get the image more neat, and having no more complementary elements in the context but the boats. With that, my intent is to center the attention on the workers control booth and the bikes. Honestly, I’m still not very sure if I should remove him or not; at times, I think that he is an important element to complete the reading of the image.

I’d appreciate any opinion or suggestions in that (or any other respect; so, feel free to let me know your thought!

 

13 thoughts on “After-Before Friday Week 12

  1. Nice work on this picture. I agree with your decision to remove the person from the scene. He did not seem to have a connection to the composition. Had he been walking toward the camera, for example, keeping him there might have been appropriate. Thanks for the post.

    • Good point Robin, I hadn’t seen that little but important detail of the man’s walking direction. Thank YOU for taking the time and leaving such an accurate comment!

    • Thanks a lot for stopping by and give your valid opinion Mick. No doubts about it, as you say, the man in the booth is crucial. Question is the one outside the booth, in the background in the left: is it ok removing him or should have him stayed in the image?!

  2. Nice work Jaime, you’ve turned a dull looking photo into a very striking image. I think it looks better with the man on the left removed, he doesn’t add anything to the photo. 🙂

  3. Pingback: After-Before Friday Week 12 | Visual Venturing

  4. Jaime, simple edits, but ones that turned the photo into a much more visually striking one. Seems I’m in agreement with all those who have commented before – your decision to remove the man was a good one. Less is definitely more here. As always, love having you part of ABFriday!

Leave a Reply

