After-Before Friday: Week 6

This time, I just decided to convert the same last week photo into Black & White. I think B&W version produces a totally different sensation; personally, I like this one much more than the color version. Will it work the same for you? Just let me know!

For edition, I used Photoshop CS3 applying Rob Carr’s method to B&W conversion. Sorry to say it’ll be a bit complicated for me to explain the step by step process but you can check it out at this site http://www.designbyfire.com/?p=17 (It’s at the end of the article).

Finally, after applying the Rob Carr method, I used the dodge and blur tools to slightly modify highlights, mid tones, and shadows, in order to make my final interpretation to the sky.

You can also enjoy other interesting submissions to this week ABFriday Forum hosted by Stacy Fischer at Visual Venturing by clicking here.

9 thoughts on “After-Before Friday: Week 6

    • Many thanks Mick, I’m glad you like it. It happend the same way to me; the more I look at the B&W version the more I like it. I appreciate your time visiting and commenting!

  1. Now that I look at them, I am leaning toward the B&W. It’s an excellent composition of light and shadow. Nice work, And thanks for the link to the Rob Carr method. I’ll have to check that out.

    • Thank you Robin, I’m happy you like it. I also find the color version very attractive but B&W one is another feeling; it catches you in a way you like it more and more every time you look at it, it happens to me also!

  2. Pingback: After-Before Friday Week 6 | Visual Venturing

  3. Wow, Jaime! I followed the link and I’m impressed by the steps that you took to convert the photo! It was difficult to discern the differences between his before and after shots but only because I was forced to look at the article on my phone (I lost internet this morning). I’ll have to go back and look on a full screen now that I’ve gotten it back 🙂

    You know I loved your initial post-processing of this photo from last week, but I’m a huge fan of stormy days on the beach and your b&w evokes just that feeling. I can picture the beautiful sunlight on the beach giving way to the threatening clouds, and I just love that!

    Thanks, as always, for sharing your great work on ABFriday! You’ve been there from the start and I appreciate it more than you can know.

  4. My truly pleasure Stacy! You are right, the sky is a key point in this version; it adds another dimension to the image forcing you to take a look on the whole picture, from the entry shadows to the infinite.
    The link to Rob Carr method is not the best but I didn’t find a video tutorial in English, only in Spanish (Sorry)!

  5. Robs conversion method is similar to one I used to used to simulate T-Max film before Photoshop developed the Black and White Adjustment Layer. I like the effect with the dodging and burning. Personally I think the sky looks stronger after the conversion.

    • Well, Ben, this time, thanks to you for visiting and commenting! I think like you, the new klook of the sky is the stronger element of the final version composition.

Leave a Reply

